I've been playing a fair few indie games recently, you know on the side of WoW of course i know i complained about firelands being boring when it came out but since then i re-subscribed after watching lawrence, healed a few raids, took on one of the bosses in firelands and yeah. I take it back its very fun however i'm no longer counting WoW as a game. I listened to YoGPoD interveiw on nordrasil radio and lewis raises a good point WoW is a hobby rather than a game, though one could argue that gaming in general is a hobby but WoW it self is a specific hobby seperate from the rest of it, i mean its like Warhammer if you think about it, you pay every now and then to gain more of it you use that time to build your characters up and perfect them, and you have an entertaining social experiance and thats why i think WoW is so popular and good. Its more than a game it has become part of peoples lives, and thats not a bad thing contary to popular belif i hate how people who don't play WoW just call it shit and the only argument they come up with is "Oh its sad it takes over your life blah blah blah" its our fucking lives not yours! And we enjoy it as a hobby why do you care? Though if they have only watched it then can complain its boring because it is boring to watch but don't diss it till you try it. However yeah there are some people who take it way to far and do let it consume their lives you should take it in moderation and enjoy other things to but its fine to have as a hobby and i think more people would accept it if they looked at it as a hobby rather than a game. Oh also most people who say shit like that are CoD addicts and think its too geeky, fucking hypocrites!
Anyway moving on i am surrently loving indie games i've been playing Dungeons of Dreadmor, Drawfs?!, Outland (For ze Xbox 360 rather than PC like everything else) and i just recently became aware of Altitude thanks to TotalBiscuit from the tube of you's and i really like the look of Bastion though havn't got round to downloading it yet. But yeah each are fantastic games, infinitly better than 95% of the mainstream, £40 on release shit that comes out and only cost a couple fo pound each. In fact CoD is a good example of this, Black Ops in particular it is stupidly expensive and not really that good well the single player is shit, the competative multiplayer is alright but isn't the best or most fun experiance that everybody seems to think it is, zombie survival is fun but still not the best coughkillingfloorkicksitsasscough. Now leading to my point the best and most fun part of the entire game is arcade twin stick shooter mini game however you can buy a better version of those games for about £1 off xbox live marketplace, in fact you can probably get a game for each of those points i pointed out the single player, multiplayer co-op + competative and the arcade mini-game so thats 4 games for half the price if not less acctualy i'll look on steam now and point them out, well mini-game theres "i made a game with zombies in it" if want to stick with the zombie theme for like a pound, competative multiplayer theres TF2 which is now free zombie survival as i pointed out before theres Killing Floor for £15 and single player theres Half Life 2 with both the episodes added on the end costs another £15 so maybe thats over half but still thats 4 games (well possibly 6 if you count episode one and two as seperate games as well) though you could not get the episodes for HL and it would be half the cost of CoD and every single one of them is 100 times better. Ok only one of them was indie but besides the point am sure if you looked could find indie games that do it for even cheaper i just thought of the best games off top of my head. Anyway this concludes my CoD hating rant see ya
No comments:
Post a Comment