Thursday, June 23

In brightest day, In blackest night.

Yesterday i watched the cinematic adventures of Hal Jordan or more commonly known as the Green Lantern! It was much better than i thought it was going to be to be honest, the adverts really undersold it i didn't expect to be better than X-Men: first class which also surpassed my expectations. Maybe i'm just used to super hero movies not being that good, but this year, considering the amount their pumping out, i have enjoyed all of them hopefully Captain America will keep up the trend. Although none of them have a torch to Batman Begins / The Dark Knight speaking of which i can't fucking wait untill next year...
        Yeah i've gone on a tangent there a bit ahem, where was i? Right Green Lantern was great the character was portrayed well, the villians were awesome, for the first movie (am pretty sure theres going to be a sequel with sinestro corps) they were big villians, like the end of the world stuff, most hero movies don't tred there and i really liked it. Also Hector's transition to becoming evil and corrupted was well played out (oh and i'm probably the only one who noticed this but he played starcraft 2 that was awesome) the romance wasn't stupidly sloppy, was a very beliveable relationship, the special effects were awesome along with the action sequences, there was Hal Jordans cockyness and humour spread throughout. Yeah it was all good. The thing i love about his concept is that you can do anything, and have really intresting ways to deal with situations exploiting that fact, which is why hes such a fascinating super hero. This movie didn't spare any expence on that factor creating swords, miniguns, airplanes, catapults, AA turrets and even a giant hot wheels set to drive a crashing helecopter to safty... However this fact can also be his stories downfall and can create a lot of plot holes. Is hard to find real obsticles when can create anything but the movie didn't subcum to such weight fortunatly.
        However that isn't the only movie that exists, this morn i also watched Green Lantern Emerald Knights which isn't really what i expected, it set up an appocolypse story but didn't do anything until the end. It is actualy a bunch of flashbacks telling mini stories of other green lantern members at one point theres a flashback within a flashback... must resist urge to make an inception joke... while they are quite good stories by themselves i was left disapointed, don't think it should have been a movie of just that. Also at the end it teases you with Hal Jordans story (yeah he doesn't have a flashback for himself he just provides exposition is bullshit) he says "I'll tell you the story about when i fended off an army of manhunters with a squirrel as my only backup" I want to fucking watch that story that sounds amazing. The "gripping" conclusion is really stupid, and you remember the point i made before about being able to create anything and how it could create plot holes? This is why. They defeat Krona by half destroying Oa... You know the planet of the guardians and headquarters of the green lantern corps... Yeah they smash it into Krona to push him into a sun. This is every single lantern i'm sure combined they could create planet constructs to use instead of using YOU'RE HOME PLANET! And they don't even seem phased at all at this loss, they just laugh and just go "meh, we'll fix it". Anyway conclusion watch Green Lantern at cinema but avoid Emerald Knights, now i'm going to read rebirth.

No comments:

Post a Comment